Stranger 2 – Main Act

Standard

My Brazilian Counterpart (Main Character)

If you remember, we last saw Ms. Senorita storm off to some unknown destination and it left us all baffled (On Stranger 1 – Act 1). Once Ms. Senorita left, the woman sitting to my right (the one who lent her the charger) turned to me and asked – “Whoa! What is up with her?” I noticed that she was wearing an off-white blouse and jeans and was all curled up on the couch, keeping a watchful eye over her luggage which consisted of two suitcases and a bag stacked unevenly on a trolley. “Is she coming back for my charger or not?” I started laughing because one could never tell anything with Ms. Senorita.

Ms. Senorita came and left like a hurricane with mass destruction and an abandoned cell phone charger behind her while we were recovering! That was when I met Tamara – I’d like to think of her as my Brazilian counterpart.

vector_brazil_flag_paint_on_girl_face_569205

The topic of Ms. Senorita got us talking. I found that Tamara was also a 20-something girl who has led a far more independent life than I did. I admired and even envied her life! She completed her undergraduate studies in Brazil, where she spent a year in London. After this, she moved to Mexico for a few months and for the last 4 months, she was in the US as a tourist. She took up an English course in Massachusetts and used her undergrad degree to land a job with HP. When she was talking about what she wanted to do with life – travel, discover herself, just live life like it was meant to be – I was impressed. I saw in her, a girl who was dancing to her own tunes and was craving to explore more of the world!

We spoke for hours. Initially it was all staying in the USA, visa status and all the related conversation that immigrants have!! Then it turned into something more serious and personal. She was just getting out of a toxic relationship and she said this – “I had to get out of the relationship. My boyfriend was leading a stagnant life and was ‘dying inside’. That is not how I want to be. I want to soar and I cannot do that if he wants to be deadweight.” She was sick of being taken for granted and that got us talking a lot about how as women, we tend to easily give up the first priority spot to someone else. Evaluate yourselves and if you feel the need for it- take back control over your lives, ladies! We have a lot to accomplish on our own – without any support from anyone.

Then we got back to talking Philosophy! Like me, she likes to be in control of her life – any kind of uncertainty would shake her off. So, when I told her that I was in a phase where I did not know how my life would turn out in the next three years, she was extremely sympathetic and genuinely concerned. We kept making plans of what we would do in the future, how things would turn out for us and all that. We spoke like we knew each other for ages! We started off as strangers and departed close friends. This experience has been one of a kind for me. So the next time you get a chance to talk to a stranger, take the opportunity. For all you know, you might find your Tamara!

Here’s a letter that she left for me before she went to her flight!

FullSizeRender (1).png

As you’d have guessed, we became friends on Facebook and now chat regularly. Although, this story had a Happy Ending, I need to still tell you all about what happened to Ms. Senorita. But before that, I will need to segue into a third story – a story which is wretched and tugged at my heartstrings.

Let me give you a brief introduction of what happened – as I was talking to Tamara, a girl with a thickset body, with long black hair tied in a bun came to us, looking worried and asked us if we had any pain killers. We were immediately concerned, because it is not good to fall sick at an airport without anyone to help out. So we started rummaging out backpacks to see if we had anything to offer and that was when she started telling us the reason why she needed the pills.

For more, hang on..Stranger 3 – Divided we fall, will be out soon!

About samaranao

I am one of those people who make life altering plans in the shower but never really act upon it. I am not dark and brooding - but I am one of those 20 something women who want a lot from life but are still unsure of what exactly they want. I enjoy most of the clichéd hobbies - I love traveling, reading (I read a LOT), engaging myself in endless conversations with friends and family. I have always loved writing - this has been one of those life altering plans that I kept putting off. Well, as we are nearing the end of 2015, I decided to start working on my resolutions a little ahead of time. I hope this sticks around for long!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

