Goodbye Alan Rickman

Standard
Goodbye Alan Rickman

My eyes were only half open and I saw that my boyfriend was already up. I heard him say, “Samara, Alan Rickman passed away.” As opposed to jumping out of the bed, I thought to myself, “Wasn’t that Severus Snape?” and went back to sleep. When I woke up 20 minutes later, I read a text from my cousin informing me the same news. I think that was when everything started sinking in. I told all other Harry Potter friends of mine about this and that was when we started reminiscing about everything.

I started reading the books when I was about 8 or 9 years old. The movies were not made then and Rowling had written 4 books so far – the popularity of the books was still increasing slowly. Like all other kids my age, I hated Snape with all my heart. I day dreamed a lot about these characters – I used to think of myself as Hermione and a guy I had a crush on was Harry Potter!

I have always hated movies that were derived from books. But, when Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone was out, I was annoyed that they did not name is Philosopher’s Stone, but I watched the movie anyway! I was bedazzled. The casting in the movie was spot-on. But I was particularly intrigued by Dumbledore and Snape. You can only imagine my despair when Richard Harris passed away. I was distraught when they casted Michael Gambon and it took me 2 more movies to finally get used to him. But Alan Rickman, and the ease with which he acted as Snape was amazing. It was so easy to loathe him when he said – “People will think you are…up to something!” in Sorcerer’s Stone.

I know Alan Rickman has acted in other movies and his true fans would rather prefer to remember him in those movies. But to me, he will always be the person who brought out a beloved character of mine alive on screen. I don’t think anyone else could have acted the good-day in a bad wrapper character with so much panache.

The world has lost an amazing actor and I have lost yet another favorite movie actor who linked me to my childhood. Nevertheless, the show must go on. I might wake up tomorrow with a slight hollow feeling, but I know that will pass. I wish you were here for many more years and I wish I could show a picture of you, all white-haired with a wrinkled face to my children and say – “that guy played the best Snape ever. ” Sadly, that is not going to happen and we will have to make do with whatever memories we had of you until today. To quote Alan Rickman/Professor Snape:

Well, it may have escaped your notice, but life isn’t fair.

alan_rickman_x4

Rest in Peace Alan. You will be missed.

About samaranao

I am one of those people who make life altering plans in the shower but never really act upon it. I am not dark and brooding - but I am one of those 20 something women who want a lot from life but are still unsure of what exactly they want. I enjoy most of the clichéd hobbies - I love traveling, reading (I read a LOT), engaging myself in endless conversations with friends and family. I have always loved writing - this has been one of those life altering plans that I kept putting off. Well, as we are nearing the end of 2015, I decided to start working on my resolutions a little ahead of time. I hope this sticks around for long!

8 responses »

  1. He played the perfect Snape, didn’t he? But then, he was phenomenal in everything. It makes me sad I never saw him on stage – he’s on the list of actors I want to see live…

    I suppose you’ll always remember an actor in the role s/he first made an impression on you. To me, he’ll always be Hans Gruber, but just because he’s Snape to you doesn’t make you any less of a fan.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

